top of page

I. M. Terrell History

In 1882, the Fort Worth School system opened its first public school for black students, called “East Ninth Street Colored School.” It was moved to the corner of East 12th Street and Steadman in a property trade with the Fort Worth and Denver Railroad in 1906, and renamed “North Side Colored No. 11.” Isaiah Milligan Terrell was named principal and served until 1915. A 1909 bond election provided funds for a new building, which opened in May 1910. In honor of its former principal, the school was named “I. M. Terrell High School" in 1921. The school at 12th and Steadman became a Junior High and Elementary in 1938, when Terrell High was moved to its present location at 1411 East 12th Street (now I. M. Terrell Cir). I.M. Terrell High School closed in 1973 and was re-opened in 1998 as an elementary campus. The elementary campus closed in June 2016. The school, a Texas historical site, became the I. M. Terrell Academy for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) and VPN (Visual and Performing Arts) in August 2018, a FWISD Gold Seal High School of Choice.

I. M. Terrell High School Principals


Isaiah M. Terrell

William Bundy
No photo available


Lorenzo Johnson


Hayman King

Knox Tucker.jpg

Knox Tucker


Walter Day

 I.M. Terrell Elementary School  1998-2016

As a result of the tenacious efforts by our late leaders Norma Ramsey Johnson (Class of 1955) and Frank Wallace (Class of 1939),

the doors of the historical I.M. Terrell High School reopened as I.M. Terrell Elementary in 1998 under the leadership of

Dr. Vera Brooks-Ray. Dr. Ray dedicated 8 years of excellent instructional leadership to the I.M. Terrell Elementary students

and community. Following Dr. Ray's tenure, Ms. JoAnn Dickerson served 5 years as principal and continued the legacy of

high academic performance and instruction.  FWISD replaced Ms. Dickerson with another bright and willing young lady,

Ms. Raven Brown, from 2011 until the school closed in 2016.

I M terrell today.jpg
bottom of page